Wirral Walk – Part 2 – Hilbre Island

High tide at Hilbre was at 0924 BST on Friday which meant that it was safe to be out on the sands all afternoon – and everyone was.  There were streams of people heading to and  from the islands.  Some were obviously families enjoying the sun, but there were quite a few in wellies, and with big cameras, who were presumably watching the birds.

I followed the safe route, round the back of Little Eye, then over Middle Eye where I lingered to see what wildlife I could find.  Most obvious was the seaweed which covered all of the rocks. I have no idea what this wierd thing is:

I also saw a few of these little fellas which I think are Sandpipers.  When they’re standing still they’re difficult to spot.

More than anything, these islands demonstrate the power of the sea.  At the northern end of the main island, near the old slipway, I sat down and finished my picnic.  As I looked out to sea, daydreaming, I suddenly saw the splash of a seal in the water so I spent the next half an hour trying to get a decent photo.  There were three of them and I could see them clearly with my monocular …. but not so well with my camera, I’m afraid.Honestly, there's a seal in this photographBy the time I’d decided that wildlife photography was a skill I don’t have, most people had headed back to the mainland and I wandered back too.  Total distance walked today: approx 18 miles.  Total height gained: Not very much at all.

This entry was posted in Walking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wirral Walk – Part 2 – Hilbre Island

  1. Louise says:

    Hi Judith! Good to see you’re out and about. My walking seems to have dropped off, might have to do something about that in the next week or so. I think that little chap may actually be a Dunlin, if I remember, the Sandpiper has a plain buff breast and the Dunlin has that dark patch, but I don’t have my book to hand (that would involve walking to the bookshelf…) Not long now!

    Like

  2. Alan says:

    Dunlin it is.
    Well spotted Louise. Sorry Judith.
    What a great place to walk. I have never been on this coast and it’s only an hour away.

    Like

  3. Judith says:

    Louise, Alan, thanks for the identification. I think you’re right and it’s a Dunlin. I just assumed he had a mucky chest! It was good to get out for a long walk to get some miles in my legs, but with only a daypack and no hills …. so I hope I’m not too unfit for the Challenge.

    Like

  4. Louise says:

    You’ll be fine, Judith, you’re already way fitter (more fit?!) than me and I thoroughly enjoyed plunging over the heather again for about 11 miles last Wednesday with no ill effects after hardly a step since our assault on the Borders. I just keep doing my brisk three mile daily walk with the odd longer, lumpier walk thrown in for good measure. Having moments of anxiety about food, maps, kit etc., but it’s all going to be fine. Honest…

    Like

Leave a Reply

