TGOC12 Day 5 – No pain no gain

Usually it is Day 3 when I start to feel it. Aching legs, heavy pack, general exhaustion – but, this year, it is Day 5. My right ankle is sore. My left wrist is swollen and sore – probably due to incorrect use of my new Pacerpoles, so I shall reread the userguide I brought with me.
The weather has been good for the last couple of days. Yes, occasional hail or hail/snow showers but they pass quickly. I had to put on a jumper in the middle of the night; there was ice on the inside of the flysheet, and the socks hanging up outside had frozen solid! Newtonmore tomorrow and the luxury of a hostel bed. Looking forward to it!
PS. My phone wants to “optimise” my photos, so I hope this one is better than the last one.

This entry was posted in Camping, TGO Challenge, Walking and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to TGOC12 Day 5 – No pain no gain

  1. AlanR says:

    Lovely photo Judith. Almost summer.
    I will never understand why fit hikers need poles anyway. For me they are best left in the shop. But thats my choice.
    Hope the weather picks up a bit from now on.

    Like

    • Judith says:

      I disagree, Alan. I think poles are very useful on rough ground with a heavy pack. Even on level ground they can help with maintaining a good rhythm whilst walking. I think I’ve been gripping mine too tightly, though, hence the sore wrist. It is a lot better now.

      Like

Leave a Reply

