First impressions: Vaude Bivi 1P

I love camping.  I like the idea of sleeping out in the open and close to Nature; but sometimes I want to get closer than a tent allows.  I already have a Rab Survival Zone bivi – which is just a waterproof sleeping-bag cover with a drawstring around the face – and I have intended to combine it with a micro-tarp to keep the weather off; however, I have only done this once.

A step up from a sleeping-bag cover is the hooped bivi, but I have always been put off these by their design.  Usually you have to wriggle in and out at one end of the bivi, which doesn’t appeal to me, and the extra weight of the hoop/pole makes them heavier than a sleeping-bag cover but without the benefits of a tent.  Also, some of the hooped bivis are very expensive (ie over £200) and I would rather put that sort of money towards a tent.

When I saw reviews of the Vaude Bivi 1P [the 1P means 1 person; there is also a 2P] it seemed to meet my requirements: reasonably low weight (910g maximum), relatively cheap (£150 RRP, but available for about £100) and with a long zipped door at the side.  This should be just what I need for high-level camping when I want to travel fast and light – and especially when the weather could turn a bit nasty.  I’d read a couple of reviews and, accepting that it is a bivi and not a tent, I decided it was worth a gamble.

Packed bivi: 38cm by 12cm. 838g

Weighing in at 838g including bags, pegs and pole repair sleeve, I was immediately impressed with the size and weight of the packed bivi.  Here was something I’d be happy to stick in my winter daysack “just in case”.

Bivi; pegs (6); poles (3); pole repair sleeve

Everything seemed well made and the instructions were clear enough.  After a dummy run in the dining room (without pegs!) I took advantage of a rain-free evening and set the bivi up in the back garden.

Assembling the head end of the bivi was simple.  You have to flex the poles in order to fit the ends into the pockets but the poles are good quality and flexible.

The short pole, at the foot end, was not so easy to slot into place, as it’s far too short to bend, but there is a bit of give in the fabric and I’m sure I’ll learn the knack.

The short pole at the foot end of the bivi. The photo shows the free end resting on the grey pocket which it has to slot into. After a bit of fiddling, I worked out the best way to do it. It might not be so easy in the rain & cold, though.

The bivi comes with 6 pegs.  So that’s one for each corner and one for the guyline at each end – only there is also a pegging loop at the head end, so you really need 7 pegs not 6.  I need to work out if the pegging loop and the guy could go on the same peg.  The bivi was stable without that loop pegged down, but the floor was not as taut as I would have liked.

The guying at the foot end is a bit strange.  There is a loop of guyline which has two metal rings on it.  One ring is small, and fixed in place; the other is bigger and free to move along the guy line.  Attached to the lower edge of the bivi flysheet (it’s a single skin tent, but there’s a flap of material over a vent at the end) is a hook.  I think the hook should be clipped onto the smaller ring for better ventilation or can be clipped onto a 3rd ring, near  the bottom of the short pole, in order to batten down the hatches in bad weather.  I assume the tent peg goes through the bigger ring – although I’m just guessing and will experiment with other configurations to see what works best.  The photo is not the best, but may give you some idea what I’m talking about.

I found the bivi easy to get in and out of via the door which runs along the side.  Once you’re inside, you can either completely seal yourself in or open the “windows”.  There’s a zipped vent in the rear wall, ie behind your head, and this can be kept open with a reinforced Velcro strip.  There is also a mesh section above your head; so this lets in a bit of air but can also be opened with a zip, making a large gap for air to flow through but, hopefully, protected from the weather by the “hood”.  This also means that you can peep out through this window if you want to see what’s going on outside.

Photo shows the zipped vent, fully open, above where your head would be. The door zip is under the grey strip below the vent. On the left-hand side, at the back, you can see the other vent which is kept open with a reinforced strip.

I was hoping that the pole at the foot end would mean that the bivi fabric would be completely lifted away from my body.  This is true at the head end, where there is plenty of room to move about, but the bivi was touching my feet when I lay on my back, and my hip when I lay on my side, and that was on a thin roll-mat with no sleeping bag.  This shouldn’t be a problem if the venting is effective, but I might not want to use a down bag if there’s a risk of condensation.

There is one slight problem which I need to sort out.  Poles A and B cross each other, with Pole A going over the top of Pole B.  Pole B seems to want to twist forward and does not sit centrally in the gap under Pole A.  This might not be important but it doesn’t feel right.

Should Pole B (lower) be more central? It seems to lean towards the front of the bivi.

So, what do I think so far?

This is definitely a bivi not a tent and I cannot see it taking the place of my Akto or Laser Comp on the TGO Challenge.  There is enough room inside to prop myself up on one elbow whilst eating my dinner or reading a book.  I could probably change into dry clothes – with a lot of wriggling – but I wouldn’t be able to do anything that required sitting up.  The venting seems well thought out, but I’ve not tested it in clammy conditions yet. The door can be tied back when open, and it looks like there are options for how open or closed to have the door depending on how bad the weather is.

So far, so good.  Now all I need is the time for a trip into the hills.

This entry was posted in Gear and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to First impressions: Vaude Bivi 1P

  1. AlanR says:

    Looks good. Will be interesting to see how you get on with condensation. If you feel the need to use a synthetic bag then the weight difference may be negligible over a tent. I’m thinking Power Lizard.

    Like

  2. Judith says:

    Yes, you’re right Alan – Having to use a synthetic bag would limit my “fast and light” options. Although, I do have a Vango Ultralite 100 synthetic bag which packs down really small and weighs about the same as my Rab down bag. No, it’s not as warm but I won’t mind getting it damp and/or muddy. I’ll be using the Vaude bivi for long two-day walks with an overnight camp; so camping comfort is not the highest priority. I will report back once I’ve used it for real.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Vaude Bivi 1P – First night – Midges and rain | Around the hills

  4. Pingback: Vaude Bivi 1P – First night – Midges and rain | Adventure Outdoor

  5. Pingback: Tent review – Hi Gear Soloista Backpacking Tent – Initial Impressions | Around the hills

  6. Kurt Williams says:

    Generally I would recommend this bivi with my only negative comment being that in extreame conditions (top of snowdon in very cold wet & windy in November) condensation made for a slightly damp sleeping bag.

    Like

    • Judith says:

      Yes, I can believe that would be the case. I’d be happy to use it for one night in poor weather, when a damp sleeping bag would not be a serious problem, but it would not be suitable for multi-night trips.

      Like

Leave a Reply

