TGOC2013 Day 3 – Inveraray

My first 3 days were due to be easy and I am glad I planned it that way. The rain is wet and persistent. It finds its way into every nook and cranny. I am going to buy some binbags to stop the damp seeping through my “waterproof” bags.
After a very welcome pub lunch (mm! Sticky toffee pudding) I am now waiting for the Youth Hostel to open so I can dry out all of my kit.

This entry was posted in TGO Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to TGOC2013 Day 3 – Inveraray

  1. John J says:

    Well done Judith! There have been 9 drop-outs as of this morning – that includes 2 airlifts. No reports of trench-foot (yet). May catch up with you somewhere en-route. Keep up the good work!
    JJ

    Like

  2. Phil Cook says:

    I told you it was wet up there!

    Like

  3. Theo says:

    It didn’t look that wet. I’m back home after pulling out after day 1. Went up Ladhar Bheinn which had only the last 50-odds meters with its head in the thinning clouds, so it seemed, but once up the flank from Folach the weather deteriotated. No hard rain or so, just persistant. At the summit EVERYTHING was wet. I’ve never been let down by my Paramo jacket, Goretex Trousers and Scarpa leather boots before. Even the drybags contained some water. Mobile wet and useless. Too many things went wrong I couldn’t explain. A lot of bad omens and the only thing I could think of was get out of here, back to Inverie and get home. I can’t explain the feeling that something very bad was going to happen.
    Good luck to you Judith and be carefull.

    Like

    • Judith says:

      Theo, I’m sorry you had to drop out – and so soon. It sounds like everything was going wrong for you. I had snow yesterday but the weather is now lovely (but that is no consolation for you, sorry).

      Like

  4. Pingback: TGOC-13 A list of blogs « Daunerin' Aboot

Leave a Reply

