TGOC2013 – Day 8 – Dreich day in Glen Artney

Apart from an hour in the morning, I had my waterproof trousers on all day.  The walk North out of Callander, then through Glen Artney, would have been really pretty on a clear day but the cloud was very low and it was a shame not to see the scenery at its best.

At the side of the track, a few km out of Callander, I saw this tatty Wishing Well.

I can’t find out much about it, but it is mentioned in a trip report from the 1930s so it’s been there a while.  I was not tempted to throw any money in.

A good track took me North and, being Saturday, I was surprised not to see anyone.At NN640123 I saw this memorial –– I don’t know the story behind it.

The bridge as NN642130 wasn’t there and it was worth the effort of swapping my shoes and socks for Crocs for the crossing.  It was a cold windy day and I wanted to keep my feet dry for as long as possible.

In Glen Artney, the landscape became forested farmland again.  I crossed the Water of Ruchill and followed tracks and minor roads all the way to Comrie.

After chips and Irn Bru at Comrie, I walked along the road to the campsite.  It was a Saturday night and I hadn’t booked but there was space available and the showers were lovely!  From my tent, I sipped Irn Bru and my own special blend of whisky whilst listening to a couple of men struggling to pitch their new tent for the first time.

I checked the weather forecast to see if tomorrow’s high route could be problematic but the BBC was promising White Cloud so I should be OK.

This entry was posted in TGO Challenge, Walking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to TGOC2013 – Day 8 – Dreich day in Glen Artney

  1. louse4 says:

    Don’t you just love the entertainment value of somebody elses new tent? Next!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

