TGOC2015 – Day 2 revisited – Falls of Glomach and Alltbeithe

It was chilly overnight and there was no sun on my tent when I woke up, so I tucked my Paramo in over my hips for some extra warmth and went back to sleep.  It was 9:30 before I was packed up and ready to walk.

River Elchaig

This was the day that I had two Foul Weather Alternatives – although they were really Falling Off Scary Ledge alternatives.  I’d heard bad things about the Allt a Ghlomaich path but it was not as bad as I was expecting. There were a couple of scrambly bits but I wasn’t worried about falling off.  I don’t think I’d like it when it’s icy, though.  There are a couple of deep steps that my little leggies would struggle with if it was slippy.

I’d been advised that the best place to view the Falls of Glomach was from below but I didn’t really know what that meant ….  so I was a little perplexed when I saw this sign …. suggesting that I’d reached the Falls… and that they were very disappointing, with just a trickle of a stream in the gorge below.

P1030888_FotorHowever, the sign on the other side of the bridge pointed the way to the actual Falls – although it was another 30 minutes or so before I finally saw them.

First view of the Falls of Glomach

As I got nearer to the top of the falls I could see several people enjoying a rest which is what I intended to do once I reached level ground.  It was a hot morning and lunch near a babbling burn was an attractive prospect.  I wondered how many of these people were Challengers and would I catch up with them before they’d finished their lunch and moved on?

P1030892I had a leisurely lunch above the falls.  I chatted with a couple of walkers but they weren’t Challengers.  Of course, it was Saturday so there were plenty of day walkers and weekend hikers enjoying the lovely weather.

I took a pathless route South past Loch Gaorsaic and ended up with soaking feet.  This year I decided to take both pairs of Sealskinz socks; the blue trim pair and the green trim pair.  The blue were better than the green ….. but both were useless.  Arggh!  I like walking in trail shoes but I wish I could sort out how to keep my feet dry….. or cope better with them being wet.

This was my first visit to Glen Affric (Alltbeithe) Youth Hostel.  I’d been amazed to be able to get a bed there …. and even more surprised when I was able to move the booking from the Sunday to the Saturday night when I booked the sleeper train and revised my route.  This was everything a Youth Hostel should be.  The warden was welcoming and the facilities were simple but just what I needed.   There were two Kiwi Challengers staying there that night and we heard the tale of the unfortunate chap (also a Challenger) who’d been airlifted out, that morning, after dislocating his shoulder.  Ouch!

Glen Affric (Alltbeithe) Youth Hostel

This entry was posted in TGO Challenge and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to TGOC2015 – Day 2 revisited – Falls of Glomach and Alltbeithe

  1. AlanR says:

    So you met Lee and Darrien form NZ. I wondered who would be the first to come across them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

